IEBC commissioner resigns

IEBC commissioner resigns

By Peter Ochieng

One of the four embattled Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) commissioners, who disowned William Ruto’s presidential win in August 2022, has called it quits.

IEBC vice chairperson Juliana Cherera, and commissioners Justus Nyang’aya, Irene Masit and Francis Wanderi have all along been referred to as the ‘Cherera four,’ after disowning IEBC chairman Wafula Chebukati’s declaring that Ruto, then Deputy President (DP) won the presidential contest.

Nyang’aya decided to resign on Friday; moments after President William Ruto suspended the four from office, and formed a tribunal to investigate their conduct.

Nyang’aya in a letter to the President said he made up his mind to quit after days of prayer and soul searching. He said he was grateful for having been given an opportunity to serve the country.

“In the last few weeks, I have had serious soul searching and being a man of faith prayed fervently so that I may have the wisdom to make a decision that is in the best interest of the country. We all agree that the best interest of the nation must always supersede our individual interest,” said Nyang’aya.

“I have always endeavored to act in the best interest of the country, although my actions, taken in good faith have been misconstrued. I am grateful that I have been given an opportunity serve our great nation and intend to continue doing so in other capacities.”

President Ruto suspended Nyang’aya, Cherera, Masit and Wanderi from office after the Members of Parliament (MPs) approved a report by the Justice and Legal Affairs Committee (JLAC) recommending the formation of a tribunal to investigate their conduct.

The tribunal is chaired by High Court Judge Agrrey Muchelule, with Caroline Kamende, Linda Kiome, Mathew Njaramba and Khamis Saeed being among the members.

Former President Uhuru Kenyatta appointed the four commissioners last year, to replace Roselyn Akombe, Connie Nkatha Maina, Margret Mwachanya and Paul Kurgat who resigned after the 2017 general elections.


No Comment.