Names of members of education review taskforce set up by Ruto

Names of members of education review taskforce set up by Ruto

By Joshua Cheloti

President William Ruto has finally named the task force that will be mandated to review the country’s education system especially the Competency Based Curriculum (CBC).

Ruto, during his maiden speech as the Head of State, said he would in a matter of weeks set up a task force that will help provide answers to worries among parents and other stakeholders about CBC.

“There is a robust conversation in the country on education, in particular the implementation of the CBC curriculum,” the President said.

“We will establish an Education Reform Taskforce in the Presidency which will be launched in the coming weeks. It will collect views from all key players in line with the constitutional demand for public participation. We are particularly alive to the anxieties of parents on the twin transitions of the last 8-4-4 class and the first CBC class in January next year. I assure you that there will be a solution to the matter before then,” he added.

The President has finally fulfilled the promise of setting up the task force that will be chaired by Raphael Munavu.

Munavu was Ruto’s supervisor when he did his master’s at the University of Nairobi’s Chiromo campus.

The 42-member task force will be assisted that 7 secretaries.

Among the notable names in the task force include UoN Vice Chancellor Stephen Kiama and Paul Wainaina, the Vice Chancellor of Kenyatta University who had been sacked by former President Uhuru Kenyatta, before the courts reinstated him.

Former private school heads association Mutheu Kasanga is also a member of the task force.

“The secretaries are KNEC CEO David Njengere, Elyas Abdi, Eunice Gachoka, Jackson Too, Richard Miano, Reuben Nthamburi, and Patita Tingoi,” read part of the notice appointing the 49-member taskforce dated September 29, 2022.

Here is a list of other members of the task force that might just have a final say on whether to retain or scrap CBC;

– Peter Tabichi
– David Some
– Halima Saado
– Jacinta Ngure
– Peter Njenga
– Jerono Rotich
– Ciriaka Gitonga
– Purity Mbaabu
– Edward Katue
– Jane Imbunya
– Bernard Kariuki
– Peter Njenga Virginia Wahome
– Robert Juma
– Charles Kyalo
– Anthony Cheruiyot
– Bishop Geoffrey Waweru
– Seline Chepngeno
– Laila Abubakar
– Daniel Otieno
– John Kamiti
– Margaret Chege
– James Kanya
– Salome Eyangan
– Wiston Akala
– Jane Kimiti
– Kizito Wangalwa
– Augusta Mwihaki
– Peter Barasa
– Ahmed Yusuf
– Jone Mose
– Hassan Mwakimako
– Lynette Mwende
– Wilson Kogo
– Stephen Mumbua
– Paul Lilan
– Richard Githinji
– Collins Odote.


No Comment.