ODM MPs bribed Ksh50 million by State House to leave Azimio – Senator Oketch

ODM MPs bribed Ksh50 million by State House to leave Azimio – Senator Oketch

By Joshua Cheloti

Migori Senator Eddy Oketch has sensationally claimed that a section of ODM legislators that met President William Ruto at State House, Nairobi has been bribed to quit the Azimio coalition.

At least 9 legislator held a meeting with Ruto on Tuesday, February 7, 2023.

The meeting has already elicited mixed political reactions, with multiple reports indicating the legislaors, mostly from Nyanza region pledged to support the government of the day.

But even as details of the meeting still remain scanty, Oketch, a first-time ODM Senator claims the MPs that were in attendance received Ksh50 million – a bribe for them to ditch their political vehicle in the August 9 poll – Azimio – and join Kenya Kwanza.

In a tweet, the youthful Senator termed the MPs move as betrayal.

She however noted that, even though some may conclude that the move would weaken opposition leader Raila Odinga, it is the community that will suffer.

“It is unfortunate that a section of ODM MPs have been given 50million by Statehouse to leave Azimio and join Kenya Kwanza. Let’s not sell the souls of our people. Betryal in the city, you think you are destroying Baba but instead you are destroying the community,” the Senator tweeted.

His Narok counterpart Ledama Olekina seemed to agree with the sentiments.

Replying to the tweet, Olekina said, “Instead of feeding the poor?”

An update from President William Ruto after the meeting indicated that they discussed areas of partnership for development purposes.

“Leaders must join hands, foster coexistence and work together in confronting the challenges facing our country.”

”They must endeavour to lead by example and serve the interest of the people. This is a sure route to a more united and developed Kenya,” the President said when sharing photos.

“At State House, Nairobi, held a consultative meeting with MPs from Nyanza following a recent visit to the region,” he added.

9 MPs out of which 8 are elected on an ODM ticket and one independent attended the meeting.

They were Gideon Ochanda (Bondo), Elisha Odhiambo (Gem), Mark Nyamita (Uriri), Caroli Omondi (Suba South), Shakeel Shabir (Kisumu East, Independent) Felix Odiwuor alias Jalang’o (Lang’ata), Paul Abuor (Rongo), John Owino (Awendo) and Kisumu Senator Tom Ojienda.


No Comment.