Omanyala, Kipchoge to battle for top SOYA honours

Omanyala, Kipchoge to battle for top SOYA honours

By Peter Ochieng

The stage is set for top sportsmen and women to battle for honours during the 2022 Sports Personality of the Year Awards (SOYA) later today.

The gala ceremony will be held at the Kenyatta International Convention Centre (KICC), Nairobi, presided over by Deputy President (DP) Rigathi Gachagua.
African record holder in 100m Ferdinand Omanyala and 1, 500m Olympic champion Faith Kipyegon who won the SOYA Sportsman and Sportswoman of the year awards respectively last year headline the categories again this year.

Omanyala will battle it out with Eliud Kipchoge who is the World marathon holder, boxer Nick ‘Commander’ Okoth,

Karan Patel who is a motorsport specialist and athlete Emmanuel Korir, in a bid to retain his SOYA title.

On the other hand, Kipyegon is up against fellow athletes Mary Moraa and Beatrice Chebet, golfer Naomi Wafula and table tennis star Angela Okutoyi, as she seeks to win the SOYA Sportswoman of the year award for the second successive year.

The sportswoman living with disability category brings together Paralympics star Nancy Chelagat, athletes Beryl Atieno, Linet Famba and Sarah Wangari and powerlifter Helen Wawira.

Wesley Sang, Isaac Makokha, Lucas Wandia, Ian Wambui and Simon Chereno will battle it out for the sportsman living with disability award, while Dennis Mwanja (Rugby), Anthony Ojukwu (Basketball), Joseph Munala (Volleyball), Sammy Kiki (Basketball) and David Waore (Paralympics) will square it out for the coach of the year award.

The sports team of the year men category has Menengai Oilers (Rugby), the 3×3 national basketball team, Kabras Sugar (Rugby), the 4x100m athletics relay team and the National Cereals handball team.

The women’s category comprises of Kenya Lionesses 15s Rugby team, Strathmore University Scorpions hockey team, KCB women’s volleyball team, Nairobi Water handball team and 4×4 national athletics relay team.

Betty Chelangat, Faith Cherotich, Medina Okot Rachel Achieng and Jackline Chepkoech are in the running for the most promising personality of the year girl, while Reynold Kipkorir, Karamveer, Singh, Andrew Wahome, Joshua Amunga and David Katana have been shortlisted in the promising boy category.


No Comment.