• June 18, 2024
  • Last Update June 18, 2024 2:57 PM
  • Nairobi

Retired judge Ojwang reappointed EPRA board chair

Retired judge Ojwang reappointed EPRA board chair

By Peter Ochieng

Retired Supreme Court judge Jackton Ojwang’s reign as chairman of the board of directors at the Energy and Petroleum Regulatory Authority (EPRA) is far from over.

In a gazette notice dated 17th May, 2024, President William Ruto reappointed him, handing the former judge another four years in office.

“IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred by section 12 (1) (a) of the Energy Act, I, William Samoei Ruto, re-appoint JACKTON BOMA OJWANG as the Chairperson of the Board of Directors of the Energy and Petroleum Regulatory Authority,” the notice reads in part.

Justice Ojwang retired from the Supreme Court in February 2020, after reaching the mandatory retirement age of 70.

On May 12, 2020, retired President Uhuru Kenyatta appointed him to chair the EPRA Board.

He was among Supreme Court judges led by then Chief Justice David Maraga, who overturned Kenyatta’s 2017 presidential win, and ordered for fresh elections, which Kenyatta won.

Elsewhere, Pwani University’s Prof Said Rajab has been named Chairperson of the National Commission for the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).

He will serve for three years with effect from May 24.

“I, William Samoei Ruto, President of the Republic of Kenya appoint-MOHAMED SAID RAJAB (PROF.) to be the Non-Executive Chairperson, of the Board of the Kenya National Commission for UNESCO.”

Meanwhile, President Ruto has also appointed former Nairobi County Assembly Speaker Benson Mutura Kang’ara as the Chairperson of the Board of Nairobi Metropolitan Area Transport Authority (NAMATA).

The former Speaker will serve for 3 years, effective 24th May, 2024.

President Ruto also appointed Ningala Kalachu as the Chairperson of the Council of the Veterinary Medicines Directorate, for a three year term.

Further, Ruto appointed Chief of Defence Forces (KDF) General Charles Muriu Kahariri as the National Museums of Kenya Chairperson.

He takes over from his predecessor, Francis Omondi Ogolla who died in a KDF helicopter crash last month.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *