• June 18, 2024
  • Last Update June 18, 2024 3:12 PM
  • Nairobi

UDA Elects Leaders in Busia County

UDA Elects Leaders in Busia County


Tuesday, June 11, 2024

KNA by Samuel Barasa/Ibrahim Nanda

Maurice Chetambe has been elected as Busia County United Democratic Party (UDA) chairman.

Chetambe was declared the winner after garnering 85 votes out of the possible 90.

He was followed by his immediate opponent Maxmillah Ouma who garnered four votes and Victor Masombo with one vote.

Ouma was declared as the Deputy ChairpersonJoyce Auki was declared Farmers’ Representative after scooping all the 90 votes leaving her immediate opponent Arunda Ochieng’ with no vote.

The position of representative of the professional group was awarded to Michael Juma who bagged all the 90 votes, leaving the three other opponents with no votes to take home.

Ronald Engurat was elected as a male youth representative while Benard Nandieki secured the post of the representative of the Micro Small and Medium Enterprises.

Fredrick Oundo was elected as the Party’s branch treasurer while Stephen Buluma and the former Chief Officer for ICT Lydia Nabwire clinched the posts of Secretary and Deputy Secretary respectively.

The forum also saw the election of various group’s representatives; Hawkins Ouma (Male Rep), Wilkister Pamba (Female Rep), Zilpa Bett Chepkemoi (Women Rep), Stephen Owalet (Religious Rep).

The results were announced by Busia County UDA Returning Officer Raphael Macharia who said that the process was smooth with 90 out of the 136 registered delegates turning out for the exercise.

In his address to the press during the close of the exercise, Macharia stated that the voter turnout stood at 66.1% adding that the new leadership would now embark on an active membership recruitment drive for the political party in preparation for the 2027 General elections.

Courtesy; KNA

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *