• April 19, 2024
  • Last Update April 19, 2024 7:23 AM
  • Nairobi

UDA announces new dates for its grassroots elections

UDA announces new dates for its grassroots elections

By Patricia Mollyne Mataga

The ruling United Democratic Alliance (UDA) has finally announced new dates for its grassroots elections.

UDA had scheduled the elections for last year but it was postponed in the last meeting.

But following a meeting chaired by President William Ruto on Tuesday, the party announced that the elections will be coming up late in April.

The elections will be held in four phases.

“The Party leader President William Ruto chaired a meeting of the National Steering Committee (NSC) sitting on behalf of the National Executive Council (NEC),” read part of the statement.

“The NSC was sitting to deliberate on the upcoming party grassroots elections as well as the constitution of relevant party organs,” it added.

According to a communication from UDA, the first phase of the elections will be for 7 counties which will be on April 26th while the second phase scheduled for June 22nd will be held in 13 counties.

In the third phase, 15 counties will do their grassroots elections on August 10. The final phase will be on August 24, for 12 counties.

While announcing the election dates, the ruling party affirmed that it was committed and determined to conduct a free and fair exercise in all counties.

“The elections will be conducted electronically,” the party said.

In a separate statement, UDA Secretary General Cleophas Malala said they were ready for the elections.

“The UDA Party is ready for the Grassroots Election. The @UDAKenya Party has announced an elaborate schedule of the four-phased grassroots election running from April to August 2024,” Malala said in a post on his verified X handle (formerly Twitter).

During the meeting, the party’s National Steering Committee, team also nominated the National Elections Board and the Disputes Resolutions Committee.

Kenya Revenue Authority (KRA) chairperson Eng Anthony Mwaura remains the party’s National Election Board chairperson.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *