• May 19, 2024
  • Last Update May 19, 2024 2:15 PM
  • Nairobi

Ajea 2024: TV 47’s Elizabeth Ochieng’ crowned Kenya’s best journalist with young names dominating the nigh gala

Ajea 2024: TV 47’s Elizabeth Ochieng’ crowned Kenya’s best journalist with young names dominating the nigh gala

Friday, 3 May, 2024
McCreadie Andias

The 12 edition of the Annual Journalism Excellence Awards (ajea) saw new names rise to the ranks of Sucess exemplify excellent and quality journalism.

The Event gala held on Friday evening at the Edge Hotel, Nairobi, saw 18 journalistic categories awarded after a long selection process conducted in a two – phase judge panel.

The event is held annually to celebrate journalistic excellence and achievements in Kenya with both household media names and emerging names. Gracing the 2024 edition included chief Guest Attorney General Justin Muturi, Dagoretti South MP John Kiarie, MCK CEO David Omwoyo and editors Joe Ageyo and Linus Kakai.

It was a back-to-back women dominated affair on the journalist of the year award as TV 47’s Elizabeth Ochieng’ succeeded Last year’s winner Nakubao Werunga to win the Journalist of the year award.

The young journalist was feted for her incredible media showcase and her professional and eloquent skills.

In other categories, another Cape Media reporter Sharon Barang’a and cameraperson George Kinyanjui scooped the Governance Reporting Award (TV category) For amplifying the voices that matter most.

Their story “Baragoi Bundle of Scars | 10 years after deadly massacre of 42 police officers in Suguta Valley” aired on TV47 highlighted how the people of Suguta Valley grappled with bloodcurdling banditry attacks, and how they are recollecting themselves 10 years after the massacre of 42 police officers.

Seemingly not enough for the Cape Media, TV47 Health Reporter Elizabeth Otieno won the Health and Medical Reporting Award (TV Category) for shining light on crucial healthcare issues. Her story “A Sweatless Survival”, laid bare the tribulations of the limanyang community in Turkana County, who cannot sweat.

For celebrating diversity and fostering understanding through the lens of gender reporting, TV47’s Violet Namatsi won the award for Gender Reporting (TV Category), with her story – “The Plight of Intersex Persons In Kenya”.

Meanwhile, Elijah Mwangi won the Blue Economy and Business Reporting Award for a feature story aired on TV47 ‘Farming Today’ show. The story was about dairy goat farming in Mwihoko area.

For voicing change and shedding light on crucial issues the award for Development and Public Affairs Reporting went to Radio Category- Mic Kwena, Deutshe Welle, TV Category- WaihigaMwaura.

The Award for Agriculture and Food Security went to Radio category,- Michael Kwoba of sifa fm marsabit while TV category went to Reyhab Watari and John Wangugi,Media Max Ltd with print going to Print Category-Kamau Maichuhie, of Nation MediaGrp and Digital media for Sharon Atieno,of Science Africa.

Jeffrey Obonyo of the Royal Media Services won The award for Videographer of the Year.

For their groundbreaking work , the breaking news reporting award went to Royal Media’s Hajj Salima in the radio category and Nation Media’s Kenneth Rutto on TV Category.

The TV award for the Digital superhighway and Innovative reporting went to Paul Nyambura and Eliud Kosgey of RMS while Radio category went to Isaac Waihenya of Radio Jangwani.

Royal Media’s Millicent Odhiambo and David Obonyo won the environmental awards reporting while Shadrack Odinga, Amos Mwangi, Linda Ngari and Stephen Ochieng won the sports reporting awards in the Radio, TV and Digital awards respectively.

Monica Mwangi Of Reuters Africa was the Photo journalist of the year while Smriti Vidyarthi, Robert Gichira and Jayne Gatwiri won the Television Production award.

Lina Mwamachi of Life Media Point limited won the Radio Production award, Nation Media’s Samuel Muigai winning the Illustrator of the year award.

De wangira and Shiro Kiambo of BBC Africa won the Podcast of the year radio category with Steve Ondieki of Standard media winning digital podcast award.

The Council received 1,081 entries across 18 categories.

The Annual Journalism Excellence Awards (AJEA) is Kenya’s prestigious journalism awards, given since 2012 for print, broadcast, and now digital journalism.

AJEA has consistently demonstrated its commitment to shining light on critical issues that shape the Kenyan society and the media landscape.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *