• May 25, 2024
  • Last Update May 25, 2024 8:42 PM
  • Nairobi

Chebukati misses out on Court of Appeal judges shortlist


By Peter Ochieng

Former Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) chairperson Wanyonyi Wafula Chebukati was among a host of applicants who missed out on the shortlist for judges of the Court of Appeal.

Chief Justice Martha Karambu Koome in her position as head of the Judicial Service Commission (JSC) released a shortlist of 41 applicants, from a pool of 82 applicants.

Chebukati, the immediate former IEBC chairman was among the 82

Chebukati’s predecessor at IEBC Ahmed Hassan Issack was among the 41 candidates shortlisted for the position of the Court of Appeal judge.

“The JSC having reviewed the application for completeness and conformity with the requirements as set out in the advertisement, shortlisted 41 candidates,” Koome’s notice reads in part.

Others shortlisted alongside Hassan include Chacha Mwita, Athony Murima, Grace Nzioka, James Wakiaga and Dalmas Omondi.

Members of the public have been invited to submit petitions regarding the suitability of the shortlisted candidates, before or on May 13th April, 2024.

Interviews will run from June 3rd to June 20th, 2024. 

“Take note that the Commission may interview any member of the public who has submitted information on any of the shortlisted candidates and such information shall be kept confidential,” the notice added.

Only 11 positions are up for grabs, which means the 41 candidates have to put their best feats forward during interviews.

The ‘overlook’ of Chebukati will come as sweet music to the ears of Azimio leaders led by Raila Odinga, who once claimed that President William Ruto was planning to make him (Chebukati) the next Chief Justice, ahead of the 2027 general elections.

Addressing the press on 2nd February, 2024, Odinga stated that the plan had been hatched at a State House meeting, attended by CJ Koome and Ruto among others.

“In that (State House meeting) agreement, the five High Court Judges and two Court of Appeal Judges will be for Ruto to forward to the JSC. He floated the names. Immediate former IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati and former IEBC Chairman Ahmed Issack Hassan are to be appointed as Court of Appeal judges, with Chebukati being later elevated as the Chief Justice before the 2027 General Elections,” said the ODM party boss. 

“At the meeting, the Chief Justice and Mr Ruto reached an agreement that will supposedly allow Mr Ruto to provide additional funding to the Judiciary. In return for this additional funding, Justice Koome is to advertise vacancies for five additional High Court Judges and 11 Court of Appeal judges. This is in addition to the 20 High Court Judges advertised and the advertisement of the 11 judges has just been done in today’s gazette.”

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *