• April 15, 2024
  • Last Update April 14, 2024 9:48 PM
  • Nairobi

CJ Koome Feted at African Persons of the Year awards

CJ Koome Feted at African Persons of the Year awards


Saturday, March 16, 2024

KNA by Bernadette Khaduli

Chief Justice Martha Koome was on Friday night feted with the African Female Leader of the Year Award 2023 at the African Persons of the Year Awards ceremony held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Koome was voted for her trailblazing leadership as the first female Chief Justice of Kenya, and for her accomplishments in the Judiciary, especially in improving access to justice, promoting gender equality within the legal system, and advancing judicial reforms to strengthen the rule of law in Kenya.

The African Persons of the Year Awards celebrate individuals who contribute significantly to the continent’s advancement, inspire the future, and positively transform the continent’s image on the global stageSpeaking at the ceremony, CJ Koome said the honor was not solely for her achievement but also symbolized the collective dedication and resilience of individuals striving for excellence throughout the continent.

“This award is not mine alone to claim. It is an accolade that I dedicate wholeheartedly to the institution I am privileged to lead, the Judiciary of Kenya,” she said.

Koome said the recognition shines a light on the Judiciary’s collective endeavor to establish a truly people-centered justice system and a system that is responsive and attuned to the needs, experiences, and expectations of the Kenyan people, especially those who are marginalized and vulnerable.

In a press statement sent to newsrooms, the Chief Justice also stressed the importance of rededicating efforts to Africa’s development, fostering a culture of excellence, and establishing systems and institutions that serve the interests of all.

“This recognition spurs us to persist in our pursuit of leadership excellence and to relentlessly enhance the quality of service delivery by our institutions,” she stated and called on all the Judiciaries across the continent to continue working for the advancement of the continent and its people.

She recommitment to the cause of Africa’s development, which calls for nurturing a culture of excellence, and building of systems and institutions that truly work for the benefit of the people, noting that while working together the continent can forge a brighter and prosperous future for Africa.

Former Tanzanian President Jakaya Kikwete was also feted with the African Peace and Security Leader of the Year and Congressional award while Dr. Adesola Adeduntan, the Group Chief Executive Officer of First Bank Nigeria Limited was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award in Banking.

The African Persons of the Year Ceremony is a flagship annual event of the African Leadership Magazine, which has been held consecutively over the past 12 years, where policymakers, private sector leaders, civil society leaders, thought leaders, and all stakeholders from across Africa and the rest of the world converge to discuss challenges facing Africa’s socio-economic growth and development.

Past winners of the African Persons of the Year Awards include former Nigerian President Goodluck Jonathan, Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed, President Paul Kagame of Rwanda, Sudanese Businessman Mo Ibrahim, Atiku Abubakar and Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus, Director General, World Health Organization.

Courtesy; KNA

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *